# ROANE COUNTY DEMOCRATIC PARTY REORGANIZATION **CONVENTION 8/21/21 MEETING MINUTES**

### • CALL TO ORDER

Michael Howe, 2019 Chair called the meeting to order

## **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

- CREDENTIALS
  - Susan Garrott gave the Credentials Committee report
  - Credentials report was approved unanimously
- o RULES
  - Vickey Beard gave the Rules Committee report
  - Rules report was approved unanimously
- **BYLAWS** 
  - Jinx Watson gave the Bylaws Committee report.
  - The Bylaws were adopted: 1st Hilda Grant, 2nd Jinx Watson

### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

- A Slate of Officers was presented
- o Each position was handled separately as follows
  - There was a call for Nominations from the Floor; there were no nominations
  - The ballot was closed
  - The vote was unanimous for each position
- All officer's positions were filled in the same way. Result was:
  - Chair Michael Howe

  - 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair Vickey Beard
    2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair Kerry Willett
  - 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice Chair Jinx Watson
  - Secretary Susan Garrott
  - Treasurer Jean West

## **ELECTION OF DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVES**

- o Divided into Caucuses by District (7 districts in Roane County)
- o In each caucus, selected a chair and a secretary
  - Caucus chair—lead meeting and called for nominations of 2 positions within the caucus district, preferably a man and a woman.
  - Voted for each position separately
  - Caucus Secretary—kept minutes of meeting
    - People attending by name
    - People elected by name
  - The following table gives the results:

| District | Name of Person Filling Position | No. of People Present from<br>Each District (includes people<br>w/letter who would accept a |
|----------|---------------------------------|---|
|          | C1 C1 11                        | position, if it was offered)  |
| l        | Glenn Gabriel                   | 5   |
| 1        | Jack McNew                      |   |
| 2        | Carol Broucek                   | 1   |
| 2        |                                 |   |
| 3        | James Worley                    | 4   |
| 3        | Dakota Russell                  |   |
| 4        | Malcolm Stocks                  | 3   |
| 4        | Barbara Stocks                  |   |
| 5        | Hilda Grant                     | 1   |
| 5        |                                 |   |
| 6        | Alfred Rybka                    | 4   |
| 6        | Anna Cantrell                   |   |
| 7        | Lee Garrott                     | 7   |
| 7        | Edith Jones                     |   |
| _        |                                 | Total Attending = 25  |

- Note 1. There are 2 districts where only 1 seat was filled. These 2 districts had only 1 representative present at the convention and no one had submitted a letter stating they would accept the position if it was offered.
- Note 2. Two representatives (District 2 Carol Broucek and District 3 Dakota Russell) who were elected were not present. They had submitted letters stating they would accept a position if it was offered.
- THE OATH OF OFFICE WAS ADMINISTERED TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (OFFICERS AND DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVES)
- THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED
- ELECTED EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SIGNED PAPERWORK